What’s happened to Mental Nurse?

Ok, so what’s happened to Mental Nurse?  The RSS feed is down, and when I try to visit the website, all I get is this:

Not a natural blond. I mean look at those roots, and then there’s the whole eyebrow situation…

Is it some kind of early April Fool’s joke?  If so, it’s quite well-thought through; I particularly like the list of appropriate responses to finding the site gone: psychosis, breakdown, loneliness, paranoia…

Did somebody forget to put a shilling in the meter?  (I guess, these days, I should say ‘forget to charge the keycard at a paypoint’, but it doesn’t have the same ring to it.)

Did OSB, inspired by recent developments in north Africa, return with a tank he ‘liberated’ from the Ministry of Defence and try to stage a coup, forcing Zarathustra to follow a scorched earth defence?

Seriously, though, was there some kind of announcement that I missed?  I’d be sad if Mental Nurse is gone forever.

This entry was posted in Stuff I've read. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What’s happened to Mental Nurse?

  1. Neuroskeptic says:

    Whoa, that’s…weird.

    I think what’s happened is that they’ve lost the use of the mentalnurse.org domain so it now points to a placeholder site, the actual site is probably still alive somewhere but no-one can access it.

    …and indeed, a quick bit of googling reveals this: http://whois.domaintools.com/mentalnurse.org

    Their domain name was “updated” on the 25th March…which probably explains it… ah, and here we go. On twitter they say that a cybersquatter nicked the domain name before they had a chance to rebuy it http://twitter.com/mentalnurse_uk

    Oh dear.

  2. aethelreadtheunread says:

    Hi, Neuroskeptic, and thanks for the info. I forgot about the twitter feed. D’oh! ;o)

  3. Pandora says:

    See the latest post on my blog. It went offline very briefly and was then stolen :'(

  4. I spotted that the other day. They obviously didn’t have the domain on to automatically renew.

    Once a domain has been bought by a squatter they will never get it back. I was once told never to let a domain expire unless you’re absolutely certain you will never need it again, as once it has gone, it has gone forever. Unless you have a few thousand quid to pay them – they essentially hold you to ransom.

    I suspect they will need to register a new domain and transfer the site across!

  5. jbarber says:

    I’m mortified that we’ve lost this website, could it not be renamed something like mentalnurseoriginal, I’m sure Z would try his best to resurrect the original forum

  6. madosphere says:

    Hi there

    Some of the former co-authors are joining this blog.

    TWIM will be migrating across to the Madosphere as of this weekend.

  7. aethelreadtheunread says:

    Thanks for the extra comments, and, madosphere, thanks for the heads up. I’m pleased to see the MN community is carrying on in some form. :o)

  8. just me says:

    BOOOO I miss mental nurse :(

Comments are closed.