Oh, ffs; or, Has The Guardian come to this?

Ok, I’ll admit it: I was bored.  And, as often happens when I’m bored, I was pootling randomly around on the internet.  I’d strip-mined anything of interest from the BBC News site, and was reduced to having a look at The Guardian.  In the process of trawling down the front-page, I came across a link to a particular story, and it stimulated the response referred to in the title.  See if you can spot which story it was on this screen-grab:

I’ll give you a clue; it’s on the right-hand side.  It has 10 comments.  It’s a technology story.

I mean, forget the fact that ‘spammer uses underhand means to do underhand thing’ is not perhaps worthy of being front-page news.  Forget the fact that The Guardian have, yet again, found a way of mentioning the iPad – seriously, they do it so often, the ‘iPad spike’ in pageloads must be massive.  No, forget all that, and let’s just look at the little summary under the headline: ‘Kirstie Allsopp among those affected’.  It’s like a parody of a tabloid, the kind of thing that would crop up on The Onion (assuming The Onion was British, and so knew who the hell Kirstie Allsopp is).  Maybe there’s a ‘Kirstie Allsopp spike’ too, and the whole story is nothing but click-bait.

I know none of you kids will believe me, but I remember the days when The Guardian used to be world-famous for the quality of its technology journalism.  Seriously: sports reporting and technology, The Guardian was top of the pile.  Maybe it still is for sports, let’s face it, I have no way of judging.

This entry was posted in Media commentary, Stuff I've read. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, ffs; or, Has The Guardian come to this?

  1. haha the second I saw your screenshot I started rolling my eyes. It is pretty much a daily-mash equivalent of a guardian article!

  2. Katherine says:

    I miss Thursday’s science section, myself. Great spluttering was incurred while reading today’s (paper*) edition when I spotted a use of ‘infer’ for ‘imply’. In their defense (though I’m not sure they deserve it much, considering what they do with their coverage of women’s issues) that story didn’t make it into the paper edition at all.

    I’m at least as worried by the Lohan/machete coverage :)

    * I’m young and therefore not supposed to buy it on paper but I also don’t want and couldn’t afford an ipad and I do like to read on the train.

Comments are closed.