Happy New Year

Years of exposure to New Year’s Eve nights in provincial gay clubs means that it’s now impossible for me to see or hear those three words – Happy New Year – without immediately thinking of the devastatingly bleak Abba song of the same name.  Sample lyric:

[…] the dreams we had before

Are all dead, nothing more

Than confetti on the floor

Why, yes, it does come from the fag-end of their career when they’d all got divorced from each other and were on the verge of splitting up.  How ever could you tell?  Still, it’s allowed at this time of year, I reckon – new year wouldn’t be new year without someone getting blubberingly over-emotional…

Anyway, I hope you all had a pleasant Hogmanay, and that the new year brings all of you the good things you so richly deserve.  Personally, I saw 2009 in with a nice cup of tea, a mint Aero, and the telly.  Discounting last year (when I had a bit of a nasty cold, and so the not drinking just happened, without me choosing it), I reckon it was my first ‘dry’ new year since nineteen-eighty-depressingly-long-time-ago, when I was 13 years old.

I had been invited to a night out, but decided that I wasn’t feeling up to it.  Big crowds make me anxious at the best of times, and a big crowd of very drunk people crammed into a nightclub that consistently ignores fire regulations is not the best of times.  In any case, it was better than last year, when I spent the critical moment in bed on my own, being abruptly woken from disturbing fever dreams by an impromptu firework display right outside my bedroom window.  This year, when I might have enjoyed watching fireworks, naturally there weren’t any – I blame the credit crunch.  Either that, or they got given an asbo…

Well, I’ll leave it there, for now, I think.  I seem to be feeling strangely full of half-formed ideas for posts at the moment, so it may be that my semi-holiday is on the verge of coming to an end.  Or, of course, I might find that I still need a few more weeks of keeping the hatches relatively battened down.  Either way round, thanks for reading what I wrote in 2008, and I’m looking forward to my first full year as a member of the Mental Health blogosphere.

Take care.

This entry was posted in Cheerful stuff, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. cellar_door says:

    Happy New Year :o) I went to bed at about a minute past twelve as I couldn’t keep my eyes open. Me and Mr Door spent the night watching Ross Noble DVDs…who says all students do is party…

  2. Mandy says:

    Hi Aethelread

    I can’t believe you have only been (or nearly so) in blogland for a year. How time flies:>)

    Hope your 2009 brings you what you need and, pushing the boat out here, a fair bit of what you would like too. :>)

  3. Happy New Year! I agree that over-full nightclubs give me the creeps for the same reason. Like that Thai place that went up in flames and killed loads of people. Also, it takes 20mns to get served when it’s that packed, and just as long to get to the loo.

  4. mortjo says:

    Love mint aero’s!

    Happy New Year

Comments are closed.