Awards season

Wow. The ever-lovely Lexie @ Teenage Misanthropy has given me an award.

I’m a bit chuffed, I have to say. Except without the bit, obviously. Anyway, without further ado, and before I start rambling about how I want to thank my agent, my manager, the members of the academy etc, on to my list of winners. (This is all a bit meme-like, you see, and I’ve finally worked out what I’m supposed to do with a meme…)

Here are the rules:

1. Choose 5 blogs that you consider deserving of this award based on creativity, design, interesting material, and overall contribution to the blogger community, regardless of the language.
2. Post the name of the author and a link to his or her blog by so everyone can view it.
3. Each award-winner has to show the award and put the name and link to the blog that has given her or him the award.
4. The award-winner and the presenter should post the link of the “Arte y pico” blog, so everyone will know the origin of this award.
5. Please post these rules.

And one further rule I’ve imposed on myself: I’m going to avoid duplicating the Misanthropic Teen’s list, or that of Letters from Exile either. If I weren’t doing that, quite a lot of our entries would be the same. And so, on to the awards, which are presented in alphabetical order:

Experimental Chimp – I’m always in awe of bloggers who manage to combine clever and insightful writing with genuine and spontaneous personal information. The chimp does this seemingly effortlessly, with the result that his blog is always an entertaining and thought-provoking read.

Fighting Monsters – This blogger works as a social worker, and writes in a fascinating way about some of the day-to-day realities of the job, but in a way that touches on much wider issues too. Reading this blog I have the sense of spending time in the company of a genuinely nice person, and also of learning a lot too.

Life of Chuckles – If I was straight, and married, and had kids, I think I would be this person. Literally everything he writes resonates with me, and I don’t think that’s just because we’re a similar age, and have similar MH problems, and like quite a lot of the same things. I think it’s also because the writing is so good it makes his experiences real, and that makes them easy to identify with.

Mentally Interesting (The Artist Also Known as Pole to Polar: The Secret Life of a Manic Depressive) – This was the first mental health blog I stumbled across. It’s very hard to sum up in just a few words why it’s so great. Sometimes it beautifully evokes a whole range of emotional and mental states, at other times it brilliantly analyses the prejudicial nonsense spouted by the media, but all the time it shows such a command of great writing that it leaves me speechless.

Toaster in the Shower – This is a great blog. It has all the things that you’d expect a great blog to have: fantastic writing, emotional honesty, clear thinking, and interesting subject matter. It also has another huge advantage, in my book: it comes from the perspective of a person whose angle on things I don’t often get to encounter. I sometimes fall into a lazy intellectual habit of thinking that people can be analysed and labelled and put into neat little boxes, so I’m extremely grateful to this blog for quietly but eloquently demonstrating the stupidity and futility of that approach.

Finally, I’d like to include an Honourable Mention for Schizophrenia – A carer’s journal. I’d have been very tempted to include it in my main list, if it weren’t for the fact that it’s been (temporarily, I hope) taken off-line. This blog is (was?) brilliant, and it’s very interesting to read something from the perspective of a family member of someone suffering with a serious mental illness. I often think family and friends are more the victims of mental illness than those of us who actually suffer from them ourselves.

Ok, that’s it. Sorry if I didn’t mention you. It’s only because of the 5 entries limit, and the fact that I wanted to include a reasonable spread of entries. If I’d been allowed to, I’d have just duplicated my entire blogroll.

This entry was posted in Cheerful stuff, Stuff I've read. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Awards season

  1. cb says:

    Aww, thanks a lot for the kind words, Aethelread. I really appreciate it. Especially in such amazing company – it’s definitely humbling. Cheers!

  2. J. Wibble says:

    I’ve just woken up and this is the first page I encountered (not counting Google Analytics) and now you have put a big smile on my face which I hope will stay there for the rest of the day ^_^ and it’s not often I have a big beaming grin before I’ve even had my first cigarette! Thank you very much.

  3. The Chuckle says:

    Hi Aethelread, you’ve made me blush and, if this were a real off-line awards ceremony, I would have to do the whole Tom Hanks acceptance with tears bit – thanks awfully.

Comments are closed.