Sock-puppetry: a classic gotcha

Nelson Jones wrote a blog entry at the New Statesman yesterday evening, in which he discussed an essay in the print edition of the magazine by the philosopher (and noted atheist) Daniel Dennett.  At about lunchtime today, the following pair of comments appeared in the comments thread underneath the article:

Oh dear.

You can see how it happened (discounting the possible but improbable scenario of a glitch on the website).  Sceptical Scott/ Animal left a comment, then thought something had gone wrong, and it wasn’t showing up.  So s/he thought, “I’ll try posting it under my other user profile”, did a quick copy-paste and, hey presto.  What makes it kind of awkward is that, even though I don’t spend all that much time in the New Statesman’s blogs, I recognise both Sceptical Scott and Animal as being fairly prolific commenters.  It makes me wonder how many of the other contrarian trolls who live under the line at the NS aren’t real people either.

Oh, and one other thing.  Isn’t the expression step up to the plate (as in start batting in baseball), not ‘stand up to the plate’?  That creates a whole different set of mental images…

Right! I've had it up to here with you!

This entry was posted in Atheism, Cheerful stuff, Stuff I've read, Stupidity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.